Prominent Parliamentarians, Trade Unionists & Academics Call for Lula’s Freedom

Parliamentarians, trade unionists, journalists, academics, activists and campaigners join the world-wide movement calling for former Brazilian President Lula da Silva’s freedom. (11/04/19)

Lula da Silva was jailed last year on April 7th after a travesty of justice that saw him removed from the presidential ballot and Lula convicted for ‘indeterminate acts of corruption’ with no material evidence provided against him.

His political persecution saw the far-right come to power and has led to Brazil’s biggest shift towards authoritarianism since the fall of the military dictatorship. His prosecuting and sentencing judge, Sergio Moro, has since been appointed as Jair Bolsonaro’s Minister for Justice, despite continually asserting that he was not interested in politics.

That is why millions in Brazil and around the world are calling for his freedom. You can see the full statement below and signatories below, and add your name here.

“We condemn the continued persecution of former Brazilian president Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, who was jailed a year ago. Lula was favourite to win Brazil’s 2018 presidential election until he was jailed and barred from standing, in a move condemned by the UN human rights committee.

The election was subsequently won by the far-right Jair Bolsonaro, who has said he hopes Lula “rots in prison”. Astonishingly, Judge Moro, who oversaw Lula’s trial, has now been appointed as Bolsonaro’s minister of justice. Lula is a political prisoner. We call for his freedom and stand in solidarity with those struggling for democracy in Brazil.”

Diane Abbott MP, Labour

Richard Burgon MP, Labour

Daniel Carden MP, Labour

Rt Hon Baroness Jean Corston, Labour

Emma Dent Coad MP, Labour

David Drew MP, Labour

Neil Findlay MSP, Labour

Baroness Llin Golding, Labour

Bill Kidd MSP, SNP

Karen Lee MP, Labour

Clive Lewis MP, Labour

Rachel Maskell MP, Labour

Grahame Morris MP, Labour

Kate Osamor MP, Labour

Laura Pidcock MP, Labour

Danielle Rowley MP, Labour

Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP, Labour

Laura Smith MP, Labour

Jean Urquart, Former MSP         

Claudia Webbe, NEC member Labour

Frances O’Grady, General Secretary, TUC

Mick Cash, General Secretary, RMT

Manuel Cortes, General Secretary, TSSA

Ronnie  Draper, General Secretary, BFAWU

Leo Gerard, International President, United Steelworks USA & Canada

Chris Kitchen, General Secretary, NUM

Paddy Lillis, General Secretary, USDAW

Len McCluskey, General Secretary, Unite

Dave Prentis, General Secretary, UNISON

Tim Roache, General Secretary, GMB

Valter Sanches, General Secretary, IndustriALL Global Union

Luc Triangle, General Secretary, IndustriALL Europe

Mick Whelan, General Secretary, ASLEF

Bob Archer, Secretary, Redbridge Trades Union Council & SERTUC International Committee

Howard Beckett, Assistant General Secretary, Unite

Tony Burke, Assistant General Secretary, Unite

Gail Cartmail, Assistant General Secretary, Unite

Lorene Fabian, National Retired Members Committee, Unite

Dave Green, National Officer, FBU

Moz Greenshields, Secretary, Derby Area Trades Union Council & TUC JCC

Bill Greenshields, Past President, NEU (NUT)

Terry Hoad, Past President, UCU

Diana Holland, Assistant General Secretary, Unite

Max Hyde, Past President, NUT

Steve Jones, National Executive, CWU

Vicky Knight, Vice President, UCU

Sam Macartney, International Committee, UNISON Scotland

Phil Mc Garry, Political Advisor Scotland, RMT

Pat McCourt, Regional Officer, Unite

Steve Turner, Assistant General Secretary, Unite

Howard Turner, Unite EC

Adrian   Weir, Assistant Chief of Staff, Unite

Paul Welsh, Unite EC

Barbara White, NEC member, Musicians Union

Tariq Ali, Writer & Journalist      

Andy de la Tour, Actor  

John Pilger, Journalist and Documentary Maker 

Huda Elmi, NEC member, Labour & Momentum NCG

Lara McNeill, Youth rep, Labour NEC

Nav Mishra, Labour NEC

Claudia Webbe, Labour NEC

Pete Willsman, Labour NEC

Professor Keith  Ewing, Institute of Employment Rights

Lindsey German, Convenor, Stop the War

John Hendy QC              

Kate Hudson, General Secretary, CND

Judith Amanthis, Writer

Maggie Bowden, Liberation

Colin Burgon, President, Labour Friends of Progressive Latin America

Ben Chacko, Editor, Morning Star

Luke Daniels, President, Caribbean Labour Solidarity

Ibrahim Dogus, Founder, Centre for Turkish Studies

Dr Francisco Dominguez, Secretary, Venezuela Solidarity Campaign

Kofi Mawuli Klu, Co-Vice Chair, Pan-Afrikan Reparations Coalition in Europe

Ken Livingstone, Former Mayor of London, Labour

Rob Miller, Director, Cuba Solidarity Campaign

Susanna Mitchell, Friends of Le Monde Diplomatique

Pablo Navarrete, Journalist, Alborada

Bob Oram, Chair, Morning Star

David Raby, Norwich City Councillor, Green Party

Louise Richards, Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign Action Group

Jackie Simpkins, War on Want

Callum Simpson, Movimientos

Jeni Vine, Filmmaker     

Professor Hakim Adi, Professor of the History of Africa & the African Diaspora, University of Chichester

Kuat B.  Akizhanov, PhD Research Programme in Global Political Economy, Bath University

Professor Ray Bush, Professor of African Studies and Development Politics, Leeds University

Barry Cannon, Lecturer in Politics, Maynooth University

Professor Mike  Cole, UEA

Professor Marcos, Costa Lima, Federal University of Pernambuco, Recife, Brazil

Michael Derham , Senior Lecturer in Latin American Studies, Northumbria University

Peter Hallward, Professor of Philosophy, Kingston University

Julian Hunt, UCL

Professor Peter Lambeth, Latin American Studies, University of Bath

Dr Peter Purton, writer

Professor Jonathan Rosenhead, LSE

Tereza Briggs, Playright & member of the PT      

Luiz C Zanin, Democracy for Brasil UK

Joabe Cavalcanti, Vicar, Church of England & PT member

Nara Jararaca, Committee Lula Livre UK – FREE LULA

Ana Rojas, Member, Núcleo PT Londres

Christine Blower, Vice-Chair, Brazil Solidarity Initiative

Rachel Garnham, Labour NEC, & Labour Friends of Progressive Latin America

A shortened version of this statement was orginally published in the Guardian here.

Photo: Camp Lula livre, credit Joka Madruga / Agência PT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s