65 Leading Figures from across British Society Stand with Brazil’s Lula

Parliamentarians, trade unionists, academics and activists have come together to denounce Brazil’s illegitimate Government and the campaign of defamation against Former President Lula Da Silva. Read the full statement below:

“After the undemocratic removal of Dilma Rousseff as president of Brazil (Report, 24 December) via an illegitimate process that saw 62 senators overturn the votes of 54 million, there has been an unprecedented defamation campaign against former president Lula.

This “trial by media” is an attempt to keep Lula from participating in the political process. As a highly popular figure as a result of reforms that lifted millions from poverty, Lula is considered a possible candidate in the 2018 elections. Investigating Lula, prosecutors have been unable to find any illegal activity committed. Despite this, they have submitted him to a number of arbitrary constraints and detainments, leading to a UN investigation taking place due to concern that his rights have been infringed.

We, the undersigned, oppose this concerted campaign against Lula and stand in solidarity with those struggling for democracy and social progress in Brazil.”

Add your name to the statement- sign here


Baroness Jean Corston Lord Labour

Neil Findley MSP MSP Labour

Roger Godsiff MP Labour

Lord David Lea Lord Labour

Ken Livingstone Fomer Mayor of London

Grahame Morris MP Labour

Lord Martin  O’Neill Lord Labour

Elaine  Smith MSP Labour

Colin  Burgon Former MP Labour

Chris  Williamson Former MP Labour

Tony  Burke Assistant General Secretary Unite

Manuel Cortes General Secretary TSSA

Kevin Courtney General Secretary NUT

Andy de la Tour Actor

Ronnie  Draper General Secretary BFAWU

Lindsey German National Convenor Stop the War

John Hendy QC Queen’s Council Barrister Old Square Chambers

Zita Holbourne Activist BARAC

Kate  Hudson General Secretary CND

Steve Jones NEC CWU

Len McCluskey General Secretary Unite

Roger McKenzie Assistant General Secretary Unison

Ann Pettifor Award winning Economist PRIME

Tim  Roache General Secretary GMB

Bert Schouwenburg International Officer GMB

Owen Tudor Head of European Union and International Relations TUC

Steve Turner Assistant General Secretary Unite

Mick Whelan General Secretary ASLEF

Professor Hakim Adi History of Africa & African Diaspora University of Chichester

Dr Julia Buxton School of Public Policy Central European university

Ben Chacko Editor Morning Star

Proffesor Mike Cole  University of East London

Dr Michael Derham Latin American Studies Northumbria University

Dr Francisco Dominguez Head of Latin American Studies Middlesex University

John  Gledhill Emeritus Professor University of Manchester

Professor Peter  Hallward Modern European Philosophy Kingston University

Professor George Irvin  SOAS

Stephanie Kennedy Journalist formerly of Telesur English

Professor Peter Lambert  University of Bath

Dr Steve Ludlam Senior Lecturer University of Sheffield

Dr Hazel Marsh Lecturer, Latin American Studies UEA

Jonathan Rosenhead Emeritus Professor London School of Economics

Judith Amanthis Author

Rodney Bickerstaffe Former General Secretary UNISON

Luke  Daniels President Carribbean Labour Society

Liz  Davies Barrister

Andy Green EC Unite

Dave Green National Officer FBU

John  green writer

Terry  Hoad Past-President UCU

Joy  Johnson Writer Tribune

Carl Maden National and Postal Executive Member CWU

Phil McGarry Chair SVSC RMT

Rob Miller Director Cuba Solidarity Campaign

Karen Mitchell Vice-Chair VSC

Tommy Murphy EC member Unite

Pablo  Navarrete Director Alborada

Kevan  Nelson North West Regional Secretary Unison

Bob Oram Chair Morning Star

Tim  Potter Barrister Four Brick Court

Louise Richards  Nicaragua Solidarity Action Group

Joyce  Still EC Member Unite

Alan Whitaker Past President  UCU

Matt Wilgress Organiser No coup in Brazil

Salma Yaqoob  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s