British Voices Speak out Against the Coup in Brazil

A No Coup in Brazil Initiative statement has been published condemning the coup in Brazil and the actions of interim President Temer. The statement has been endorsed from over 115 British figures with trade unionist officials, academics, activists and 35 leading parliamentarians adding their names. The list contains notable figures including leading activists in the anti-war and peace movements, 7 Trade Union General Secretaries, authors Benjamin Zephaniah and Tariq Ali and many more.

“We condemn the suspension of President Dilma Rousseff of Brazil, which represents a further escalation of attempts from Brazil’s rightwing opposition to overthrow its elected government.
“It is thoroughly wrong that a few parliamentarians trample upon the political will expressed at the ballot box by 54 million Brazilians.
“The new government has shown its true colours by appointing a non-representative, all-male cabinet and launching neoliberal policies, including redundancies in the public sector, that will hurt millions of working and poorer people.
“This is extraordinary since Temer’s interim government has no electoral mandate to implement policies that reverse the social programmes associated with Dilma and Lula’s governments that, among other achievements, took 40 million out of poverty.
“There is also a sustained campaign aimed at discrediting former president Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, in order to stop him running in the next presidential election.
“It is up to the people of Brazil alone to choose their government. We join Brazil’s progressive political and social movements, groups from across global civil society such as the world trade union movement, and governments in the region itself, in condemning this attempt to overthrow democracy in Brazil.”

Take Action Today:

1. No Coup in Brazil is asking organisations and representatives of organisations at local, regional and national levels to add their names to the statement – Add your name here:

2. You can still ask your current MP to add their name to the statement here:

You can the latest news on Brazil at and

List of Signatories (Updated):

Dave Anderson MP, Labour
Richard Arkless MP, SNP
Claudia Beamish MSP, Labour
Lord Jeremy Beecham, Labour
Richard Burgon MP, Labour
Ruth Cadbury MP, Labour
Jim Cunningham MP, Labour
Martyn Day MP, SNP
Neil Findlay MSP, Labour
Iain Gray MSP, Labour
Andrew Gwynne MP, Labour
David Hanson MP, Labour
Kate Hoey MP, Labour
Kelvin Hopkins MP, Labour
David Lammy MP, Labour
Ian Lavery MP, Labour
Clive Lewis MP, Labour
Rebecca Long-Bailey, Labour
Caroline Lucas MP, Green
Ian Lucas MP, Labour
Angus MacNeil MP, SNP
Fiona Mactaggart MP, Labour
Rachael Maskell MP, Labour
Stewart McDonald MP, SNP
Julie Morgan AM (Welsh Assembly), Labour
Grahame Morris MP, Labour
John Nicolson MP, SNP
Lord Martin John O’Neill, Labour
Jenny Rathbone AM, Labour
Liz Saville Roberts AS MP, Plaid Cymu
Tommy Sheppard MP, SNP
Elaine Smith MSP, Labour
Karin Smyth MP, Labour
Dr Philipa Whitford MP, SNP


Tony Burke, assistant general secretary,
Unite the Union
Manuel Cortes, general secretary, TSSA
Kevin Courtney, general secretary, NUT
Luke Crawley, assistant general secretary, Bectu
Sally Hunt, general secretary, UCU
Tony Kearns, senior deputy general secretary, CWU
Roger McKenzie, assistant general secretary, Unison
Gerry Morrissey, general secretary, Bectu
Hugh Scullion, general secretary, CSEU
John Smith, general secretary, (MU)
Owen Tudor, head of EU & international relations, TUC
Steve Turner, assistant general secretary, Unite
Mick Whelan, general secretary, Aslef
Tariq Ali, author & writer
Johann Hari, author & journalist
John Hendy QC, barrister
Ken Livingstone, former mayor of London
Michael Mansfield QC, barrister, Queen’s Council
Jean Urquhart, former MSP
Benjamin Zephaniah, author & poet
Professor Hakim Adi, professor of the history of Africa & African diaspora University of Chichester
Dr Mehmet Ali Dikerdem, Institute for Work-Based Learning, Middlesex University
Professor Bill Bowring, barrister & professor, Birkbeck School of Law, University of London
Professor Ray Bush, professor of African studies & developmental politics, University of Leeds
Dr Barry Cannon, Maynooth University
Professor Mike Cole, education & equality, UEL
Dr Michael Derham, Spanish & Latin American studies, Northumbria University
Dr Francisco Dominguez, head of Latin American studies research group, Middlesex University
Neil Fletcher, Hon research associate, UCL
Professor John Gledhill, professor of social anthropology, University of Manchester
Professor Peter M Hallward, professor of philosophy, Kingston University
Professor Peter Lambert, Latin American studies, University of Bath
Dr Steve Ludlam, politics department, University of Sheffield
Dr Hazel Marsh, Spanish & Latin American studies, UEA
Professor Susan Michie, director of UCL centre for behaviour change, UCL
Dr David Raby, University of Liverpool
Professor Jonathan Rosenhead, LSE
Professor Alfredo Saad Filho, department of development studies, Soas
Dr Lee Salter, University of Sussex
Christine Blower, former general secretary, NUT
John Cafferty, regional secretary, Yorkshire & Humber Unison
Jane Carolan, NEC, Unison
Denis Doody, regional secretary, Northern Region Ucatt
Jayne Fisher, vice-chair, Sertuc international committee
Jennie Formby, South-east regional secretary, Unite
Andy Gilchrist, national education officer, RMT
Dave Green, national officer, FBU
Terry Hoad, past president, UCU
Steve Jones, national executive, CWU
Andy Kerr, deputy general secretary, CWU
Annemarie Kilcline, East Midlands regional secretary, Unite
Roger King, executive member, NUT
Gerry Looker, Unison East Midlands
Mark Lyon, chair of international committee, vice chair of the executive council, Unite
Carl Maden, acting assistant secretary, CWU
Karen Mitchell, head of legal, RMT
Andrew Murray, chief of staff, Unite
Andy Richards, Wales regional secretary, Unite
Ken Rustidge, national executive member, NUT
Bert Schouwenburg, international officer, GMB
Jane Stewart, women’s committee chair, Unite
John Storey, executive council, Unite
Sam Tarry, national political officer, TSSA
Phil Thompson, secretary, Unison Greater London Region international committee
Heather Wakefield, head of local government, police & justice, Unison
Phil McGarry, chair, Scottish Venezuela Solidarity Campaign
Luke Daniels, president, Caribbean Labour Solidarity
Liz Davies, barrister & former Labour Party NEC member
Lindsey German, national convener, Stop the War Coalition
John Haylett, political editor, the Morning Star
Zita Holbourne, Black Activists Rising Against Cuts co-chair & PCS NEC member
Kate Hudson, general secretary, CND
Joy Johnson, writer & Tribune columnist
Carolyn Jones, director, Institute of Employment Rights
Bruce Kent, peace campaigner
Martin Mayer, Labour Party NEC
Rob Miller, director, Cuba Solidarity Campaign
Pablo Navarrete, Alborada
Bob Oram, chair of the Morning Star management committee
Louise Richards, Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign Action Group
Jackie Simpkins, trade unions officer, War on Want
Matthew Willgress, No Coup in Brazil

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s